CSPA Competition Manual, PIM 4F, Appendix III

CANADIAN NATIONAL TEAM PERFORMANCES AT

WORLD PARACHUTING CHAMPIONSHIPS

(April 2013 revision)

CSPA Canadian jumpers have a proud past regarding the performances of their National Teams in international competition. A Canadian first participated in a World Parachuting Championship when Floyd Martineau, in 1958, attended the WPC in Czechoslovakia. From then on CSPA Canadian Teams have been regularly participating at the international level. The following is a list of all medals won at World Parachuting Championships. It is an inspirational list and an example for all future competitors:

1962 Gold	Team Acc. Men	Daryl Henry, Floyd Martineau, Jim Noble, Simon Wykeham-Martin
1966 Silver	Ind. Acc. Men	S.F. Wykham-Martin
1966 Silver	Team Acc. Men	S.F. Wykham-Martin, Daryl Henry, Chuck Embury, Brian Bowman and Jan Genders
1966 Bronze	Ov'all Ctry Men	S.F. Wykham-Martin, Daryl Henry, Chuck Embury, Brian Bowman and Jan Genders
1970 Bronze	Ov'all Women	Carol Brand
1970 Bronze	Team Acc Men	Steve Sutton, S.F. Wykham-Martin, Rod Bishop, Tom McCarthy, Neil Perks
1970 Bronze	Ov'all Ctry Men	Steve Sutton, S.F. Wykham-Martin, Rod Bishop, Tom McCarthy, Neil Perks
1972 Silver	Ind. Acc. Men	Steve Sutton
1976 Silver	Ind. Ov'all Men	Pierre Forand
1976 Bronze	Ind. Style Men	Pierre Forand
1977 Gold	FS 4-way	Mike Zahar, Kelly Dunn, Graham Taylor, Mike Quinn, Rod Harvey
1978 Silver	Ind. Style Men	Pierre Forand
1979 Gold	FS 4-way	Mike Zahar, Kelly Dunn, Graham Taylor, Mike Quinn
1979 Silver	FS 8-way	Mike Zahar, Kelly Dunn, Graham Taylor, Mike Quinn, Claude Marchand, Mark Vincent, Rob Laidlaw, Karen Opleta
1980 Gold 1980 Silver	Ind. Acc. Women Ind. Acc. Men	Kathy Cox Craig Winning
1981 Silver	FS 4-way	Mike Zahar, Graham Taylor, Claude Marchand, Mark Vincent
1981 Silver	FS 8-way	Mike Zahar, Graham Taylor, Claude Marchand, Mark Vincent, Kelly Dunn, Mike Quinn, Rob Laidlaw, Bob Smith, Karen Opleta

1982 Silver Team Acc Women Kathy Kangas, Brenda Blue, Lisa Olsen, Eileen Vaughn, Bev Watson

1983 No FS World Championship Attendance:

Note: in 1983 the WPC was awarded to South Africa. Canada's athletes were not able to attend due to the Canadian Government's position against apartheid. To offset this, Canada sought and was awarded the right to hold a FAI sanctioned Canada Cup. It is apparent from the results, that if Canada had been able to compete at the World Championships, they would have won medals. For that reason the Canada Cup Canadian Team performances are included on this list even though the Canada Cup was not a World Championship:

1983 Gold	FS 4-way	Mark Vincent, Rob Laidlaw, Daniel Paquette, Gilles Leboeuf
1983 Gold	FS 8-way	Mark Vincent, Rob Laidlaw, Kelly Dunn, Daniel Paquette, Gilles Leboeuf, Michel Lemay, Pierre Cloutier, Michel Blais
1985 Silver	FS 4-way	Rob Laidlaw, Dale Williams, Neil Houston, Kevin Stosky, Bernie Sirois
1985 Bronze	FS 8-way	Rob Laidlaw, Dale Williams, Neil Houston, Kevin Stosky, Bernie Sirois, Pat Floyd, Sylvie Durand, Nino Mangione
1987 Gold	Para`Ski Ov'all. Women	Bev Watson
1988 Gold	Acc. Ind. Women	Lisa Olsen
1989 Silver	Para`Ski Ov'all. Women	Bev Watson
1990 Bronze	CF Rotation	Lyal Waddell, Aidan Walters, Kent Madsen, Sean Roth, Pecha Petrovich
1993 Bronze	Para-Ski Ov'all. Women	Bev Watson
1994 Bronze	CF Rotation	Henry Komant, T. Wells, M. Meadows, C. Hamilton
1998 Bronze	CF Sequential	Lyal Waddell, Aidan Walters, Kevin Webster, Gavin Adams and Blair Johnson (alt.)
2001 Bronze	CF Sequential	Lyal Waddell, Aidan Walters, Gavin Adams, Michael Wallace with John R. Smith, videographer.
2001 Silver	Acc. Ind. Women	Eileen Vaughan
2006 Bronze	CF Sequential (4-way)	Lyal Waddell, Aidan Walters, Merlin (Nic) Cormier, John Scott with John R. Smith, videographer.
2006 Gold	Canopy Piloting (Speed)	John Zuliani
2006 Silver	Canopy Piloting (Speed)	Jay Moledzki
2006 Bronze	Canopy Piloting (Speed)	Chris Hayes
2006 Silver	Canopy Piloting (Dist.)	Jay Moledzki

2006 Bronze	Canopy Piloting (Zone Acc.) John Zuliani
2006 Gold	Canopy Piloting (Overall) John Zuliani
2006 Bronze	Canopy Piloting (Overall) Jay Moledzki
2008 Gold	Canopy Piloting (Zone Accuracy) Jay Moledzki
2008 Silver	Canopy Piloting (Speed) Jay Moledzki
2008 Gold	Canopy Piloting (Overall) Jay Moledzki
2010 Bronze	Canopy Piloting (Dist.) Jay Moledzki
2010 Gold	Canopy Piloting (Speed) Jay Moledzki
2010 Gold	Canopy Piloting (Zone Accuracy) Jay Moledzki
2010 Gold	Canopy Piloting (Overall) Jay Moledzki
2012 Bronze	Canopy Piloting (Speed) Jay Moledzki
2012 Silver	Canopy Piloting (Distance) Jjay Moledzki